Spreading Ink

Verdin Marketing Ink

Nominees Needed for 9th Annual Accessibility Advocacy Awards

Community Foundation announces deadline to recognize outstanding contributions to a more accessible SLO County

The deadline for submitting nominations for the Paul Wolff Accessibility Advocacy Awards (PWAAA) was announced today by the San Luis Obispo County Community Foundation (SLOCCF).  Now in its 9th year, these awards recognize and reward an individual, organization, and business for their exemplary contributions toward the creation of a barrier-free community for people with disabilities in the County during the past year. The nomination form is available online at http://www.sloccf.org under “Grants & Programs” and must be completed and received at P.O. Box 1580, San Luis Obispo, CA 93406 or faxed to (805) 543-2346 by July 16, 2010

“Three categories means there are three separate awards,” explained Janice Fong Wolf, Director of Grants and Programs for the Foundation. “So we’ll be accepting nominees for individuals, organizations, and businesses.  Nominees should be those who have made significant contributions toward breaking down physical, attitudinal, or informational barriers to those with disabilities.”

Last year, two entities shared the Organization Award: The Bay Osos Kiwanis Club and SLO County Special Olympics were honored for their tandem efforts to bring such inspiring and quality events to disabled children and adults across the county. The Business Award went to Dr. Larry Newman’s Med-Plus for providing medical exams, access and services to all Special Olympics athletes. And the Individual Award went to Mark Shaffer for his work with United Cerebral Palsy, for launching Ride-On, and for reviving the Abilities Fair.

Nominees for the awards are welcome from the public at large, as well as from Chambers of Commerce, Cities, and the County of San Luis Obispo. Winners will be chosen by the Award Selection Committee comprised of representatives from organizations who serve people with all types of disabilities. The 9th annual award ceremony will be held Saturday, August 28, 2010 at 7 p.m. at The Clark Center in Arroyo Grande.

Now in its 13th year, the SLOCCF has granted more than $15 million through its 200 funds and scholarships. The organization continues its commitment to serve as an enduring source of charitable funding for the SLO County community. For more information about PWAAA, contact Janice Fong Wolf, Director of Grants and Programs at (805) 543-2323 or jwolf@sloccf.org.


July 2, 2010 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Monart Student Art Show

Nautical Bean will host their 4th Annual Monart Student Art show beginning July 3, 2010 at 6 p.m. Ranging from ages four to 50, the art show will feature more than 30 Monart student artists from various cities along the Central Coast. Nautical Bean is located in the Laguna Village Shopping Center on Los Osos Valley Road. The artists’ work will be on display through July 30th. Monart School of the Arts is a national-based drawing program, where anyone can experience the magic and joy of artistic expression. For more information, please contact Caroline Vaccaro at (805) 544-4243 or email slomonart@aol.com.

July 1, 2010 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment